Football Storytime Idea


I received a comment from someone asking me to share my ideas for the Football Storytime I did last winter.  Here is what I did:

Theme:  Football/Superbowl 

StoriesFamily Huddle by Peyton, Eli, and Archie Manning

              Miss Nelson Has A Field Day by Harry Allard

               Touchdown! You Can Play Football by Nick Fauchald 

Activities:  Football “Hot Potato” -I used a small “nerf” type football

Craft:  Football friend -this was a basic paper doll template with football clothes that I found on the internet.  Check out www.makingfriends.com

Take home:  Football Coloring Sheet- found on the internet. The one I used is from www.coloring.ws/sports/football/football2.gif

We use laminated nametags for the duration of the storytime session. I like to put a small foil star sticker or other small sticker on their nametags each time they come to Storytime. For this theme, I used NFL stickers my husband received in a mailing from Sports Illustrated (subscription promotion).  It was a big hit! I told the parents that my disclaimer is that I don’t follow football, so I am not endorsing any team! I got a lot of laughs with that one!

This storytime was for preschoolers aged 3 1/2 – 5.  It was fun, and really interesting to get those kids to pass the football to each other!  Our hot potato game ended up being a lesson in passing things to someone!

Hope this helps you with your storytime!  Good Luck!

Leave a comment